Cool Stuff Sunday

Adaptations are probably my most favourite thing in the world. They combine one cool thing with another, eg books with film or television, and music underneath. There’s probably nothing better to me than a truly wondrous adaptation (some greats that spring to mind are Ang Lee’s Sense & Sensibility and Life of Pi, Philip Martin’s Birdsong, and of course, HBO’s Game of Thrones–read the book and then tell me the first season isn’t infinitely better). There are a billion others worthy of love, and B&P have released a list of adaptations coming in 2016 to look out for. Yaaaaaassss.

~

Grammarly is one of my fave grammar resources, and recently they posted a quick bit about the phrase ‘bad rap’, which is often confused (by me and a whole bunch of you) with ‘bad wrap’. Anyway, I was v excited for the clarification, so go and get learned.

~

Speaking of raps, a video is doing the rounds on my FB after the #Brexit vote of British rapper/amazing human being Akala–whom you may remember from the TedX talk I posted recently about Shakespeare & hip hop. He appeared on Frankie Boyle’s Election Autopsy in 2015, and gave this incredible response to the question of racism in Britain.

You can find the full segment on YouTube.

~

Lastly, on this cold but kinda nice Sunday, we need to talk about M.I.L.F.$ by Fergie. Here it is if you haven’t seen/heard it. Prepare yourself.

So. I mean. Like. Just. Dang. This is the most ridiculous song I’ve ever heard or seen a video for but I straight up love it. I don’t know what it is. Babes being babes? Celebrating (albeit in the strangest way possible) motherhood and still being ridic hot? Chrissy Teigen (my kween) just being in it? Hugely styled everything? Terrible choreography? Spelling out every word in the second verse? Fergie’s comeback? I don’t even know but I am so ready for this ridiculous album to drop.

Leave a Reply

